#2 – I Don’t Run/My First 5K

“Oh. No. Sorry. I don’t run.”  That was pretty much my response when I was asked to run what would turn out to be my first race.  It wasn’t a 5K.  It was a 5 mile portion of a half marathon relay.  But not just any old half marathon, this one was in DISNEY WORLD during the WINE AND DINE FESTIVAL! Um, I like wining and dining.  So, I reconsidered my stance on running and started training.  At first, it was kinda just so I could visit Mickey and drink wine. But, then I discovered that I mostly like running.  I like being outside.  I like accomplishing new running times and distances and I get to spend time with my friends who run. How did I not like this sooner?

I made the goal of running five 5Ks part of my list in order to keep myself running and exercising on a regular basis.  Plus, though I was a little nervous about the race atmosphere for my first run, I thought the hype of running day was fun.  There’s music, you’re outside, friends are around and most of the time there’s food.  Fun.  It’s fun stuff.

My first 5K was on May 12, 2012.  It was a race to benefit HomeFront, an organization on a mission to end homelessness in NJ.  It was a beautiful day, warm and sunny, perfect for running.  I ran with some friends and finished in satisfactory time. (32:04) There were super salty soft pretzels afterwards.

Before the HomeFront 5K
May 12, 2012

Now, since I mentioned that I used to think of myself as a non-runner, I am happy enough that I finished the race.  I’m not speedy and I’m not looking to win. I’m in it for the fun and the exercise.  (Maybe, also for the food.)  But I didn’t feel very comfortable during this run.  I started out too fast and got tired quickly.  This result makes me very glad that I decided to put FIVE 5Ks on my list.  Now I can focus on improvement throughout the next four.

Guess I should get off the couch and run, huh?

Leave a Reply

