#14 – New Recipe

I got a mint plant. Yep, fresh mint growing like wild on the patio and I know exactly what you’re thinking…MOJITOS!  Well, you’re right.  That’s totally why I got it!  But I thought I should act a little bit responsible and use it at least once to make something that’s not a cocktail.  So, today I bring you…

Peas and Potatoes with Mint  

This recipe is from the good people at Everyday Food.  I altered it very little as I usually do when cooking.  I mostly follow the directions.  I substituted frozen peas for the shelled English peas.  I also left out the snap peas because I don’t really like them.

Here’s the stuff you need:

  • 1 pound small red potatoes
  • salt and pepper
  • 1 cup shelled English peas (or frozen) (or fresh from any country, I think it will work)
  • 1/2 pound snap peas halved crosswise
  • 1/4 pound snow peas halved crosswise
  • 2 tablespoons unsalted butter at room temperature
  • 1/2 teaspoon grated lemon zest plus 2 teaspoons juice
  • 2 tablespoons chopped fresh mint leaves

And here’s what to do:

Bring potatoes to a boil in salted water over high heat.  Once boiling, reduce heat and simmer 12 minutes.  Add peas. (This means ALL of the peas, snow and snap included.  I missed that the first time around.)  Cook until peas are bright green and crisp-tender, 2 minutes.  Drain and transfer to a bowl.  Toss potatoes and peas with butter, lemon zest, lemon juice and mint.  Season with salt and pepper. Serve warm.

Peas and Potatoes with Mint

If you ask me, peas and mint are a great combination!  Not as good as mint and rum, but that’s another post.  Enjoy!

2 thoughts on “#14 – New Recipe

  1. This dish looks super yummy! I would never think to use mint in a dish like that (or anything other than a mojito) Thank you for posting the wonderful photo and recipe. I think I will try this one for next weekends BBQ.

Leave a Reply

