#14 Lunch

Do you pack or buy? I try to pack. I don’t really have time to go out to lunch on weekdays.  I can buy lunch in the cafeteria where I work, but the options are limited, so I try to bring something from home most days.  Jars of peanut butter seem to have a way of multiplying in my cabinet, so I can always, and often do, throw together a PB&J.  I’m most happy, though,  when I can make a big batch of something tasty over the weekend and then divide it into smaller portions for lunch during the week.  In a short amount of time, I get to check “Make Lunch” off of my to-do list for the whole week, or most of it, at least. And while I’m working hard all morning, I get to look forward to a nice meal at break time.  If you like to do the same thing, I’ve got a recipe to share…Three-Bean Pasta Salad

It’s another good idea from the Everyday Food mag!

Here’s the stuff you need:

  • salt and pepper
  • 6 ounces/almost a whole box of small pasta shells or any shape you like
  • 3/4 pound green beans, trim ends, snap into thirds
  • 1 can pinto beans, drained and rinsed
  • 1 can chick peas, drained and rinsed
  • 4 scallions, white part only, thinly sliced
  • 5 stalks celery, thinly sliced
  • 2 tablespoons Dijon mustard
  • 1/3 cup red-wine vinegar
  • 2 tablespoons honey
  • 1/2 cup extra-virgin olive oil

And here’s what to do:

Bring a large pot of salted water to a boil.  Cook pasta 3 minutes less than package instructions.  Add green beans and cook 3 minutes more.  Drain and rinse with cold water.  While pasta is cooking, whisk together mustard, vinegar, honey and oil.  Combine dressing with pasta, green beans, pinto beans, chick peas, celery and scallions.  Toss gently.  Season with salt and pepper.

Three-Bean Pasta Salad

Just as I was typing out the ingredients here, I realized that I may have left out the olive oil when I whipped this up over the weekend. Hmmm?…I think I did.  It still tasted yummy though!  Maybe you’ll want to read the directions more carefully than I did.  Maybe you’ll also want to let me know what you’re packing for lunch?

Leave a Reply

