#11 – The Sense of Wonder

I was babysitting my four-year-old godson for a few days this past week and I took him to the Pocono Mountains for a visit with my parents.  While there, I was reminded of these words written by biologist and conservationist Rachel Carson that have always stuck with me as what I want to be to my godson and all the children in my life.  Rachel said…

“If I had influence with the good fairy who is supposed to preside over the christening of all children, I should ask that her gift to each child in the world be a sense of wonder so indestructible that it would last throughout life, as an unfailing antidote against the boredom and disenchantments of later years, the sterile preoccupation with things that are artificial, the alienation from the sources of our strength.  If a child is to keep alive his inborn sense of wonder without any such gift from the fairies, he needs the companionship of at least one adult who can share it, rediscovering with him the joy, excitement and mystery of the world we live in.” 

I thought of those words quite a few times during our trip.  I think my boy mostly thought about rocks and worms and rocks and rocks.

Throwing rocks at sunset

Learning how to fish

Worm love

Tree climbing (He gets that skill from me!)

Watching ducks in the rain

In the lake (It got much wetter than this! There was lots of jumping off the dock and underwater swimming that the iphone just couldn’t capture!)

Little feet wearing big flip flops (on the wrong feet!)

After dinner stroll

Examining rocks in the road

Stopping to smell the flowers

One thought on “#11 – The Sense of Wonder

Leave a Reply

