Seeing the Sweet Stuff

“…and he realized that friendship is one of the most satisfying things in the world.”

-Charlotte’s Web

E.B. White

 

Sometimes I spend a lot of time and energy thinking about things I want to happen in my life, but for one reason or a million, just aren’t happening right now. When I get stuck in one of those times and I find myself focused on wanting and lack, I know I need to do something to shift my perspective. One thing that almost always creates that shift for me is writing a list of things I’m grateful for, things that ARE in my life right now. It might sound corny, but I’m telling you, it really works.

IMG_5136

The author Glennon Doyle Melton once wrote a blog post in which she described putting on her “perspectacles” in order to see all the good things about her kitchen instead of constantly focusing on what needed updating and remodeling. My sweetie here called these things “goculars” which I believe do the same thing as perspectacles –only show the good.

And you know what I see consistently through my goculars and on my gratitude lists? My friends — all the fun times we’ve had together, the funny texts they send me, hugs and laughs in the hallway at work, FaceTime sessions, walks and runs and bike rides together, trips we’ve taken, sharing soup and cookies and festive meatballs, laughter and tears, memories and plans and so much more. I feel incredibly blessed with old friends, new friends, work friends… true friends.

Last weekend I was so happy to visit with one of my best friends from college. We met in our dorm freshman year and later shared a house with 4 of our other best friends for the last two years of school. Those were some fun times! (which I shall not describe in too great of detail here because social media did not exist back then. We are ever so grateful for that and intend to keep it that way.) I can’t quite believe that almost 19 years have gone by since we met, but it’s true. There are careers, kids and gray hair to prove it. We don’t get to see each as often as we’d all like, but as soon as we’re back together, it feels like we’ve never been apart. These girls have seen me through the best of my days and the worst. These girls can make me laugh until I pee my pants and cry tears of joy because I love them so much. Just knowing that they think of me can lift me through a tough time and the good times are a million, trillion times sweeter when shared with these ladies.

The sweetness was in overload last weekend because I got to meet my friend’s brand new baby! I just love, love, love holding a newborn baby! And this guy is the cutest little bundle of baby boy, even when he cried a little bit and even when his dad made me change ALL the dirty diapers. When I looked at his tiny adorable face, I thought about how I knew his mom before he was even a thought in her mind and I sent out a wish to the universe that he would know the same wonderful friendships that his mom and I are blessed with.

IMG_5163

I think his adoring big brother might be the first of those beautiful friendships.

Here’s a bit of what showed up through my goculars last weekend…

We drove out to the tip of Long Island and took a winter walk on the beach at Orient State Park.

We drove out to the tip of Long Island and took a winter walk on the beach at Orient Beach State Park.

We got swallowed up by a giant bluefish!

We got swallowed up by a giant bluefish!

We had a girls only lunch with wine and truffled cheese--truffle anything and you've got yourself a good day!  No matter how loud someone's kid is being in the restaurant.

We had a girls only lunch with wine and truffled cheese– just go ahead and truffle anything and you’ve got yourself a good day! No matter how loud someone’s kid is watching Thomas the Train videos in the restaurant.

This sweetie read books to me.

This sweetie read books to me.

And I was a total baby hog!

And I was a total baby hog!

Thank you for a wonderful visit, friend! I am forever grateful for you and all our girls and I’m so glad I was able to come spend time with you and your beautiful family! Love!

4 thoughts on “Seeing the Sweet Stuff

  1. I love your blog, this one is my favorite, wonder why! As the mom of one of your “best friends” who shall remain nameless, thank you for not sharing any college experiences! I still have not recovered from the horror of seeing my daughter’s overly plucked eyebrows on our first “parent’s weekend”! Beer in the microfridge? Tell me it wasn’t true! “Perspectacles”, what a great concept! I will be borrowing that phrase. Being grateful for the moment sure makes a difference in our daily lives. We tend to get so fixated on the past and the future to the detriment of the here and now. I know you love books, there is a book titled, “10% Happier by Dan Harris, that I have read and reread, it has been so helpful in my life. I think you’d really like it! You and your girls are very lucky to have each other, I speak from experience as I have friends from high school that I treasure. I love quotes too, thought you’d like this one from Snow White, “Sometimes friends are family, too”! Have a wonderful day sweetie!

    • Mrs. Culp, it wasn’t true–we never had a microfridge on Earl St. It was a regular size fridge. 😉 And at least your girl was trying to pluck her eyebrows, I didn’t figure out I could tame mine at all until junior year! See how good I am at using my perspectacles! I’m kidding, of course. 🙂 Thanks for reading my blog! It means a lot to me. So much love to you and those grandbabies!

  2. Pingback: This is it! | 35tomatoes

Leave a Reply

