#15 – Za!

If you’ve read some of my recent posts, you might know that I had a little kayaking fake out and that was a bit of a bummer.  You might also know that I got my passport in the mail and that was super exciting.  What you might not know is that those two things actually happened on the same day.  Downs and ups.  For a little while, I was looking for a way to perk up the day and then I wanted to have a celebration.  So what did we do?  Za!

Za Restaurant
Pennington, NJ

This restaurant was a great place to have a little cheer up celebration dinner with two of my wonderful friends! But I did kind of continue the down and up theme, just a little. Not a terrible downer, but, you see, Za has “Lobster Bliss” happening right now.  The have 7 different lobster dishes to choose from, each with 2 pounds of Maine lobster meat which has already been removed from the shell.  No mess.  No plastic bib.  They have lobster tempura.  I like lobster. I like fried things!  I like being past the bib stage of life!  But, guess what.  I didn’t order any lobster.  I got grilled asparagus and aubergines risotto.  (Aubergines are eggplant. Did you know that?  I didn’t.)  Don’t get me wrong, it was good, very good.  But I should have gotten the lobster. I wished it as soon as the waiter walked away.  If you’re tempted to get the lobster, you should just get the lobster.  Treat yourself, people!  It’s not like we’re out ordering lobster every day.  Or dessert.  So when dessert time came, I made up for it. Heck yeah, we’re ordering dessert tonight!  It was butterscotch pot de creme, like a custard, served with house-made whipped cream and raspberries.  Yum! I heard the key lime pie was pretty good too!  So the moral of the story is, if you really want to go kayaking, but the lake is closed, just go get yourself some lobster and dessert. Things will be looking up.

Oh yeah.  Za is where this happened.

My good, good friend saved me some tomatoes from her apple pico salmon dinner so that I could live up to the blog name. Thanks, Jac! I said I was just kidding about #13!

Leave a Reply

